You have carts in multiple currencies
RemoveItemQuantity × Price
Your cart is empty

De Profundis (Baritone Saxophone, Piano)

Full score and saxophone part (separate PDF files).

De Profundis, a sonata for baritone saxophone and piano, was commissioned by Lynn Klock at the beginning of June 2005. Taking a cue from the baritone's residence in the sonic netherworld of the saxophone family, the composer turned for melodic source material to the first few phrases of the Roman Catholic De profundis chant, setting the text "Out of the depths I have cried to you, Lord— Lord, hear my voice." All three-movements of the sonata are stitched together from fragments of the chant, and the solo saxophone states the Gregorian melody unaccompanied as a cadenza in the third movement. The tonal underpinning is descended from the tonal dramas of Mozart, Beethoven, and Brahms, but tips its hat to the jazz and rock branches of the harmonic family as well. De Profundis explores the beauty and power of the baritone saxophone as a solo instrument, showcasing its abilities to sing and dance, to growl and keen, and to "cry out of the depths."

Buy this
  • $25.00